Manic at the Expo

leave a comment »

Ruby Winkle Postcard

I attended the BookExpo America this Friday to promote Ms. Ruby Winkle. With postcards in tow and on wobbly shoes, I walked the expansive aisles of contradictorily scarce books. This was my first Book Expo and I had, like with most things, romanticized it in my mind to the magnitude of the Library of Alexandria. My image of the Expo was resplendent with toppling books and quirky librarian types in enormous glasses. Sadly, the majority of the books were in marked up bargain boxes  or arranged on Hallmark-esque card racks (luckily, sans squeak). Curiously, most of the new book titles being featured were displayed as minimalist posters behind each publishing booth. I approached several people however most of the publishing representatives seemed to be huddled together in secret money making cabals. The Book Expo was definitely a much more corporate  experience than my frequent comic convention attendance however the presence of Dark Horse and pop culture cross-over, Last Gasp Publishing, made me feel a bit more at home. Although most of the people that attended the Expo seemed more interested in contacts and cash than creative content, I met a few people who were very encouraging and friendly. I had the opportunity to meet the publisher of Simply Read Books who published several books by one of my favorite illustrators, Shaun Tan. Shaun Tan is most noted for his book, The Arrival. I also met the Editorial Director of Quirk Books who recently experienced much success with the recent release of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Thanks to Quirk Books also for the much needed bag! Although I left the Expo empty-handed and I only met one book-gushing, quirky woman in black glasses, I felt like the Book Expo was, all-in-all, a good experience. While most of the attendees were seeking large sales, I was content enough to be one of the only people pushing a small story.

Written by corvusblue

May 31, 2009 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

